About Us:

UGA Extension agents, staff and trained volunteers keep local communities informed through county Extension offices. We offer reliable information and programs in the areas of agriculture, food, families, the environment, and 4-H youth development. Let us help you learn, grow, and do more!
UGA Extension Office

Master Gardener Extension Volunteer Program

The Master Gardener Extension Volunteer (MGEV) program in Georgia is a volunteer training program designed to help University of Georgia Cooperative Extension staff transfer research-based information about gardening and related subjects to the public by training home gardeners  to be volunteer educators.

Through active MGEV programs in many Georgia counties, UGA Cooperative Extension is able to reach out and serve more citizens with educational programming and demonstrations.

The Henry County Master Gardener Extension Volunteer Program is Henry County has more than 70 volunteers plus a new class of interns each year.  There are 63 hours of classes each year for the new group of interns.  Interns in addition to attending classes are required to complete 50 hours of volunteer activity to become certified.  Classes are held each Monday from 9 until 4, from the second week of January thru the end of March.  The program required a background check on all incoming interns. 

To remain certified, Master Gardener Extension Volunteers must complete a minimum of 25 hours of volunteer time in each succeeding year after their training year. 

Applications: Accepted between August 1- October 31

MGEV Intern Application

MGEV INTERN Cover letter

Volunteer activities include:

  • Plant Clinics
  • Gardening with youth at elementary schools
  • Master Gardener Plant sale
  • Shade House Garden
  • Nolan House Demonstration Garden
  • County 4H Project Achievement Awards program
  • Extension General Support
  • Master Gardener Extension Volunteer Administration
  • Arbor Day tree give away
  • Write informative articles a newsletter & advertising
  • Making presentations
  • MGEV Scholarship Program
  • Cubihatcha water reservoir with 3rd graders
  • Mentoring interns
  • Working with seniors
  • Homeowner site visit
  • Working with local libraries on MG Sprouts for children 6 to 8
  • Symposium to teach area residents about gardening

2018 Club Officers

President – Laura Parks
1st Vice President – Deby Brown
2nd Vice President – Andi Robinson
Secretary – Charlotte Miller
Treasurer – Chuck Evans
Past President – Sue Kilgore

For more information contact the office (770) 288-8421 


Master Gardener Extension Volunteer Program - Scholarship

The Henry County Master Gardener Extension Volunteer Program gives a $1000 scholarship to a 2019 graduating Henry County High School student, who's intent is to further their education in Horticulture, Plant Science, Agriculture, Landscape Design, or Forestry. The Recipient is chosen based on merit, and if necessary, applicants will be notified of an interview. A decision will be given no later than May 4, 2019. The funds will be appropriated to the College or University of the scholars choice, and applied to tuition, books, or other required fees in July of 2019.

Be on the look out for information on the 2019 Scholarship!  

Click here for application