UGA Extension Office

4-H Youth Development

  • State Congress
    State Congress
  • Cloverleaf Project Achievement Public Speaking Contest
    Cloverleaf Project Achievement Public Speaking Contest
  • Cloverbuds
  • Family Science Night
    Family Science Night
  • Shotgun Team
    Shotgun Team
  • Summer Activities
    Summer Activities
  • Summer Camp
    Summer Camp
  • Marine Resource Camp at Burton 4-H Center on Tybee Island
    Marine Resource Camp at Burton 4-H Center on Tybee Island

What is 4-H? 

The mission of Georgia 4-H is to assist youth in acquiring knowledge, developing life skills, and forming attitudes that will enable them to become self-directing, productive and contributing members of society. This mission is accomplished through "hands-on" learning experiences that focus on agricultural and environmental issues, agriculture awareness, leadership, communication skills, foods and nutrition, health, energy conservation, and citizenship.

Who is eligible? 

All youth, grades K-12, residing in Cobb County may join 4-H.  4th graders, 5th graders, and middle school students may attend meetings at their school where 4-H clubs exist.

How to enroll?

The 4-H Open House will be held on Thursday August 17, 2023 from 5:00pm-8:00pm at the Cobb County Extension Office. The Extension Office is located at 678 South Cobb Drive Marietta, GA 30060. Look for the 4-H signs!

At Open House, you can learn more about 4-H programming and specialty clubs including: Archery, Cooking Club, Young Farmers Club, Cloverbuds, County Council, Horse and Pony Club & MET 4-H Enrichment Program, Shotgun Club, Project Achievement, Summer Camps, Conferences, and more! While at Open House you can enroll in 4-H and learn how to register for 4-H clubs/activities for the year, ask questions, and meet 4-H staff and volunteers as we get ready for a fantastic year in Cobb County 4-H! Some clubs are free while others have a fee to assist with club supplies and programming.

Did you miss out on 4-H Open House but still want to enroll your child? Enroll your child at the by clicking here! For club, please select 2023-2024 Open House. Once you have enrolled your child, you can sign up for Specialty Clubs!

What clubs can my child join?

We have lots of clubs that meet a wide variety of interests! Clubs that will be available during the 2023-2024 include the following:

  • Archery
  • 4-H CHEF Community Service Cooking Club
  • Cooking Club
  • Cloverbuds (Home School and General)
  • County Council
  • Cultured Ag Club
  • Horse and Pony Club & MET Cobb 4-H Enrichment Program
  • Medical Club
  • Shotgun

We also have many other activities and other events that your child can participate in including:

  • Consumer Judging
  • Horse Judging
  • Hippology
  • Wildlife Judging
  • LifeSmarts
  • Project Achievement Public Speaking program
  • North Georgia State Fair Events/Activities
  • Summer Camp

Register your child for Cobb 4-H spcialty clubs and activities here! Questions about club registration? Email Chloe Patterson at, Brittani Lee at, Kathleen McElroy at, or Colleen Bakhsh at

When and where are general 4-H meetings held?
During the school year 5th graders may attend meetings at their school where 4-H clubs exist. 5th grade club meetings are during school hours within the classroom. 4-H club meetings are educational, focusing on science and public speaking skills. There are several 4-H clubs active at many elementary schools in Cobb County. 4-H County Council meetings are held monthly at the Extension office for grades 4th-12th. County Council meetings include engaging activities, leadership experiences, and community service opportunities. To program for our K-3rd grade 4-H'ers, Cobb County 4-H has a Homeschool Cloverbuds program that meets during the day and a General Cloverbuds program that meets in the evening monthly. 

           Cobb County & Marietta City Schools that have in-school  5th grade clubs:

Acworth, Addison, Baker, Bells Ferry, Bryant, Chalker, Clay-Harmony, Dowell, Due West, Dunleith, Ford, Hollydale, Kincaid, King Springs, Keheley, Milford, Mountain View, Rocky Mount, Park Street, Pitner, Sanders, Sedalia Park, & Varner


County Council 2023-2024 Dates

August 17 (Open House), September 5, October 3, November 7, December 5, January 9, February 6, March 5, April 9,  May 7 


Cloverbuds 2023-2024 Dates

August 17 (Open House), September 13, October 11, November 15, December 13, January 17, February 14, March 20, April 17, May 15


4-H Activities
Activities such as judging teams, camps, conferences and more are available for all active 4-H'ers in 4th-12th grade. Activities are held after school or on weekends.  4-H activities are led by Cobb County 4-H staff members and screened UGA volunteers. Learn more about our specialty clubs and 4-H activities under the News and Events tab. For more information and an enrollment card please visit our newsletters and tabs page or contact us at 770-528-4070 or the email 4-H agent Chloe Patterson at



Cobb 4-H Plant Sale 2024

"Bee the Change!"

Kick off 2024 by purchasing plants from the Cobb 4-H plant sale to support our pollinators and Cobb 4-H youth! Find the 2024 brochure here! Your plant sale purchase will make a difference in numerous ways!  “Bee the Change”  while getting your yard ready for spring by adding color and vibrancy to brighten your days. Orders will be accepted at the Extension Office with debit/credit card (Visa/MasterCard/Discover), cash, money order, or check. Mail–in orders will be accepted with check or money order. The mailing address is 678 South Cobb Drive Suite 200 Marietta, GA 30060. No phone orders will be accepted to ensure accurate orders.  All checks should be made out to Cobb Extension/4-H.  ALL SALES are final. Cobb County 4-H makes no guarantee on plants sold. Some plant varieties are limited. Plants sell quickly! Pre-orders are being taken from now until Friday March 1st at 5:00pm. All mail in orders must be post marked by February 26th to ensure we receive your order in time. Pick up for plants will be held on Saturday March 16th from 9:00am-1:00pm at Jim Miller Park in the Covered Pavilion. Questions? Contact the Cobb County Extension Office at 770-528-4070 or email Chloe Patterson at Thanks for helping Cobb 4-H to "bee the change" with our 4-H youth!

Sold out of the following:

  • Azalea-Pat Ryan
  • Azalea- Admiral Semmes
  • Azalea- Hino Crimson
  • Azalea- Tallulah Sunrise
  • Camellia Japonica- Greensboro Red
  • Dianthus- Sugar Plum
  • Hydrangea- Limelight
  • Salvia- April Night
  • Monarda- BeeMine Red
  • Scabiosa-Butterfly Blue
  • Scabiosa-Pink Mist
  • Veronica-Giles Van Hees
  • Red Thyme

Limited supply of the following:

  • Coreopsis-Red Elf
  • Magnolia- Brittany
  • Rudbeckia- American Gold Rush



For more information about Cobb County 4-H Youth Development Programs, contact Chloe Patterson at or call (770) 528-4070.