UGA Extension Office

4-H Youth Development

What is 4-H?

No matter what your interest, 4-H has something for you!  Chattooga County 4-H is dedicated to providing young people opportunities to develop life skills in leadership, citizenship, communication and decision making skills.  Youth are given a chance to "learn by doing" through project work, classes, workshops, judging events, camps and other learning activities. 4-H participants have the opportunity to share the skills and knowledge they've gained through county, district, state and national competitive events and, when elected, to serve on county, district and state governing boards.

We have an exciting year planned with fun filled activities and events.  The challenge is here for the taking!  Simply pick the project & activities that interest you and let 4-H do the rest!                                              


Any person, regardless of race, color, national origin, gender, or disability may enroll as a 4-H member. Youth who are in grades 5 through 12 may enroll in 4-H clubs and groups.

4-H does not charge dues or require uniforms. However, there are fees and dress associated with certain events and programs.

Age Divisions

4-H lingo can be confusing, but this should help.

  • Cloverleaf: Youth in 5th-6th grade
  • Junior: Youth in 7th and 8th grade
  • Senior: Youth in 9th-12th grade

Programming Guide

4-H Staff

4-H Pledge