Nutrition and Health Programs


Becoming Independently Healthy Program

This is a monthly program. Call the Morgan County FACS Office for more information 706-342-2214

2017 Meeting Schedule:  Tuesdays 10:30 a.m. - 12:00 p.m.

Tues., 01/16/2018        Wed., 07/25/2018
Wed., 02/07/2018        Wed., 08/01/2018
Wed., 03/07/2018        Wed., 09/05/2018
Wed., 04/04/2018        Wed., 10/03/2018
Wed., 05/02/2018        Wed., 11/07/2018
Wed., 06/13/2018        Wed., 12/05/2018

 

 


SMED (Standard Medical Expense Deduction)? 

  You may be eligible for the SMED program if you receive SNAP Benefits and have medical expenses

  This a supplement program for an individual that meets the following qualifications?

  • Do you receive SNAP Benefits (Food Stamps)?
  • Receive Social Security and/or Social Security Disability?
  • Over 60 years-old?
  • Able to provide or verify $35.01 or more "out-of-pocket" medical expenses each month?

You could receive SMED (Standard medical Expense Deduction) benefits.  For more information please read the SMED flyer.

To find out if you are able to participate in this program contact, Leigh Anne Aaron at the Morgan County Extension Office, (706) 342-2214.   


Cancer Prevention Cooking

Cancer Prevention Cooking School, "Cooking for a Lifetime"

Learn about reducing risk of cancer; who should get screened for breast, cervical, and colorectal cancer; how to get screened. 

Free cookbook, Recipe tasting and Prizes!

Morgan County and Oconee County FACS offer this program on a rotating bases.  It is scheduled to be held in Oconee County in the Spring of 2018. Check back for future dates.

Please sign-up by calling: Leigh Anne Aaron, Morgan County Family and Consumer Science Agent, University of Georgia Cooperative Extension:  706-342-2214